Central Govt. retires 12 corrupt officials

In a move to clean up the bureaucracy, the central government on Monday retired twelve senior government officials; including principal commissioners, commissioner of the Income Tax Department and a chief commissioner. These officials were facing cases of sexual harassment, corruption, and disproportionate assets. The officials are dismissed under Rule 56(j) of the General Financial Rules (GFRs).

The top government officials include S K Srivastava (IRS, 1989), Commissioner (Appeal), Noida, Ashok Agarwal (IRS 1985), Joint Commissioner Income Tax (CIT), Homi Rajvansh (IRS, 1985), Ajoy Kumar Singh (CIT), B. Arulappa (CIT) and B B Rajendra Prasad. The other officials in the list were Chander Saini Bharti, Alok Kumar Mitra, Swetabh Suma, Ram Kumar Bhargava, and Andasu Ravindar.

This is a major clean-up drive under the PM Narendra Modi’s NDA government on officials and bureaucrats to get rid of India’s bureaucracy from illegal activities and corruption.

In the public interest, Rule 56(j) of Central Civil Services (Pension) Rules, 1972 allows a periodical review of the performance of government servants. Also, a view ascertaining whether bureaucrats should be retained or retired from service.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *